About the Award

The Franklin Miller Awards are given to students who make unusual or significant contributions to the academic environment of the College. The awards are named for Franklin Miller Jr., a long-time member of the faculty and a distinguished physicist, teacher and textbook author.

The Franklin Miller Awards were established by Edward T. “Chip” Ordman ’64, who credits receiving a modest, named award as a student with helping him get into graduate school. The award is meant to give that same small, but meaningful, encouragement to deserving students whose efforts and ingenuity, though they do not win traditional accolades, have made a difference in the life of the Kenyon community.

Nominations are accepted in September and March of each year. Winners will be chosen by the provost and vice president for student affairs, and each will receive a credit of $250 to their Kenyon K-card account. Any student is eligible for this award.

Contact Jalene Fox at 740-427-5115 or foxj@kenyon.edu with any questions.

Spring 2022 Award Winners

The Franklin Miller Award recipients for spring 2022 were recognized for fostering community and a positive academic experience.

Taylor Womack '24

"Taylor’s steadfast dedication to her coursework along with her incredibly inclusive and collaborative nature has strengthened the academic environment at Kenyon. She tackles challenging problems with a productive and focused optimism. Her bold willingness to ask questions and throw out ideas in front of her peers (both in class and in office hours) creates an environment where other students feel safe expressing their own ideas and areas of confusion. She is professional and a great role model for other students, always starting her work early and persisting until she has completed the task. However, she doesn’t just lead by example; she also engages her classmates directly, recognizing the power of collaboration when constructing solutions to difficult problems. Taylor's contributions have strengthened the student ethos of productive struggle and collaboration in the Mathematics and Statistics Department, and we find her to be extremely deserving of the Franklin Miller Award."

— Assistant Professor of Statistics Erin Leatherman, Professors of Mathematics Judy Holdener, Carol Schumacher and Noah Aydin, Visiting Assistant Professor of Mathematics Rebecca Black

Salame Shubitidze '22

"I have come to know Salome most during her time as an undergraduate researcher to my lab. Undoubtedly, she has made significant contributions to the lab’s research direction and culture. She is innately curious and enthusiastic about her work, an attitude that has inspired her peers and made the lab a fun and exciting space to be. She is eager and persistent with her research. More than any other student I have worked with, Salome thinks towards the next step. She is always troubleshooting experiments or designing new ones. These traits are readily being passed down to other members of my lab group. She has been a wonderful mentor, generous with her time and rapidly developing expertise. Most notably, Salome has not shied away from difficult questions or tasks. She has been a model for grappling with a problem until a resolution is found. In the two years that she has been in my lab, she has set the tone for collegiality, hard work and enthusiasm for research (and biology more generally).

"Salome’s most recent contributions to the department has been especially exciting. In summer 2021, she developed an idea to share the beauty and intrigue of biology research at Kenyon through art. This is in contrast to the very professional scientific posters currently portrayed along the walls of Higley and Fischman. Salome gathered photos/images of science from student researchers and their faculty mentors. She arranged these pieces of data with an artistic eye, identified companies that could print them, secured funding to have them printed and oversaw their installation in the building. As of yesterday, all pieces were hung throughout the biology buildings and have garnered attention for students and visitors alike. As a graduating senior, this contribution to our department and work spaces will be a great part of her Kenyon legacy.

"Salome is a talented student that embodies the liberal arts. She brings a curiosity, creativity and a quiet confidence to anything she does. She has strongly influenced the culture of my lab in positive ways and will leave the Biology Department with a beautiful gift. I highly recommend her for this award."

— Assistant Professor of Biology Arianna Smith

Previous Award Winners


Roya Best '22

Ella Wilson '23


Alex Thoms '23

Paris Tully '21


Zola Gray '23

Xiaoyu (Dorothy) Wang '21


Ben Baturka '20

April Murphy '22


Sutton Amthor ’21

Scout Crowell ’20


Ghada Bakbouk ’19

Qiyam Stewart ’21


Masen Colucci ’19

George Goldman ’20


Mustafa Aziz ’19

Jenna Rochelle ’18


Max Smith ’18

Toneisha Stubbs ’18


Eliza Abendroth ’18

Phoebe Carter ’17


Christiana Binkley ’17

Edgar Martin ’17


Emily Bulik-Sullivan ’16

Sean P. Bush ’17

Kaitlin, Creamer ’16


Qossay Alsattari ’16

James Currie ’16


Sarah Eisenlohr ’15

Shariq Khan ’15


Lila Greco ’15

Willa Sachs ’16


Co-awardees Julia Greer ’15, Casey Griffin ’14 & Emma Miller ’15

Megan Koenecke ’15


Benjamin Ros ’14

Robert Sellers ’14


Paul Hoehn ’14

Karen Huntsman ’13


Solomon Reisberg ’13

Co-awardees Tommy Brown ’13, Matt Hershey ’13 & Alexander Variano ’13


Paul Bisagni ’12

Timothy Jurney ’15

Jessica Goley ’12

Claire Dutton ’14


Darko Gligorovski ’14

Sean Grant ’14

Sarah Heminger ’13

Ashley Meyer ’14

Reina Thomas ’14

William Koehler ’11 

Meredith Blake ’09 

Caleb Ruopp ’09 

Matthew Jacobson ’09 

Priscilla Erickson ’09 

Pengyu “Alex” Zhao ’10 

Monica Kriete ’11

Tsvetan Asamov ’08 

Kathleen Woods ’09 

Chris Henson ’09 

Katerina Karaivanova ’10

Loren Bondurant ’07

Aaron Clark-Ginsberg ’08

Lee Kennard ’07

Matthew Zaremsky ’07

Kaelin Alexander ’07

Stefanie Wilson ’08

Christopher R. D’Ardenne ’06

Michael B. Dash ’07

David A. Long ’07

Marissa H. Stearns ’06

Tatsiana A. Zhurauliova ’06

Jacob Yandura ’09

Caitlin Wells ’06

Mary Hostenske ’06

Joanna Budd ’06


Joseph M. Neilsen ’06

Aaron T. Samuel ’05


Emily E. Nishioka ’05

Lara J. Cox ’06


Kelly Henry ’07

Jennifer Underwood ’05


Katharine Touchton-Leonard ’05

Lisa King ’07


Brad Bennett ’04

Alexander Franz ’04


Robbie Ketcham ’04

Kathy Lynd ’04


Mara Bernstein ’04

Jun Ma ’07


Tyler Van Wormer ’04

Benjamin Fahey-Burke ’06


Matthew Buckley ’03


Joseph Freeman ’05

Jennifer Raterman ’05


D. Michael Barnhart ’04

Chandra McClelland ’06


Christopher Wager ’05

Daniel Kiepfer ’03


Lisa M. Maurer ’04

Sarah C. Stella ’02


Margaret C. Scavotto ’02

Heather L. Van Ligten ’02


Michael F. Sriprasert ’02

Abby E. Rokosch ’02


Sarah R. Fox ’02

Lindsay M. Sabik ’03


Meredith Ishida ’03

Sarah Kammerer ’01


Emily Anderson ’01

Erika Plank ’01


Adam Knapp ’01

Jacob Howley ’03

Jessen Book ’01


Anneka Lenssen and Fritz Horstman ’01

William J. Ward ’01

Christopher Monson ’01


Donald Cole ’01

Sara Gage ’00


James Ray ’00

Alexis Staples ’02


Sarah Wasserman ’03

Allison Hawkins ’00


Jessica Berretto ’00

Anne Crosby ’00


Will Sugden ’99

Maraleen Shields’00


Joseph Fouse ’99

Erin Wimmers ’00


James Riggs Jr. ’99

Jesse Savage ’99


Michael Floyd ’01

Laura Vazquez ’99

David Heithaus ’99

Christopher Junkin ’99


Jefferson Barlew ’98

Beth Schiller ’98

Jalene Fox

Faculty Resources Specialist
Phone Number
Email Address
202 Bailey House