Badges of Honor

The 2022 Honors Day Convocation recognizes excellent teaching, stellar student achievements and more.

By David Hoyt ’14

“Today we celebrate some of the best of our student body and our faculty here on campus, and some of the members of our alumni body who are making a difference in the wider world,” President Sean Decatur said to open Kenyon’s 2022 Honors Day Convocation. The ceremony, held in Rosse Hall the morning of April 19, recognized two outstanding members of the College’s faculty with Trustee Teaching Excellence Awards. James P. Finn ’70, a member of the Board of Trustees, presented the awards to Professor of Dance Julie Brodie and Assistant Professor of Arabic Qussay Al-Attabi.

Al-Attabi was praised by his nominators for his ability to “skillfully harmonize intellectual rigor and generosity of spirit” and for having “a sharp mind and a generous heart.” In nominating Brodie for the award, one student noted that she “opened my eyes to a whole different world … I learned to let go; to be more expressive and to take chances.”

The monetary award, established by the Board in 1999 to annually honor both senior and junior faculty members who demonstrate excellence inside and outside of the classroom, was just the first of many to be presented at the annual event celebrating achievements by students, faculty and other members of the Kenyon community. 


After Decatur recognized Kenyon students and alumni for various fellowships and scholarships, Provost Jeff Bowman presented departmental prizes honoring student excellence in fields spanning the alphabet from American studies to women’s and gender studies, and Vice President for Student Affairs Celestino Limas awarded college prizes to students who have contributed to the Kenyon community in various ways. (A full list of award winners can be found here.) 

Among these college prizes are:

The Martin Luther King Jr. Humanitarian Award, presented annually to the student who has best promoted social justice through service activities and programs, won by Micah Smith ’22.

The Doris B. Crozier Award, given to a student who has demonstrated qualities of vision, responsibility, courage, and dedication to excellence, won by Cherish Banks '22.

The E. Malcolm Anderson Cup, awarded to the student who, in the opinion of students, faculty and staff, has done the most for Kenyon during the year, won by Kirollos “Kiro” Nader Mikhaeel ’22, who was described by nominators as “friendly, kind-hearted, generous, and optimistic.” 

Prior to the presentation of awards and honors, the ceremony opened with the conferring of honorary degrees on three distinguished alumni of the College: Daniel Mark Epstein ’70 received a doctor of letters presented by Professor Emeritus of English Perry Lentz '64 P’88 GP’20 H'09, Janet Elaine Lord ’88 P’19 received a doctor of laws presented by Professor of Political Science Joseph Klesner and Byers “Bud” Wendell Shaw Jr. ’72 P’09 received a doctor of science presented by Professor Emeritus of Biology Harry Itagaki H’21. After citations were read honoring the recipients, each of the three had the opportunity to provide their own remarks on the occasion. 

The program also featured a performance by the Kenyon Chamber Singers, directed by Professor of Music Benjamin “Doc” Locke. 

Click below to: