Preparing for a career in health professions requires careful planning and goes beyond academics. Kenyon’s pre-health advising network is ready to help at every step in the process, from planning coursework; to finding formative research, clinical, and character building opportunities; to navigating the application process.

Health Professions Advising Committee (HPAC)

Sheryl Hemkin, Associate Professor of Chemistry (chair)
Tomsich Hall 106
740-427-5093
hemkins@kenyon.edu

Andrew Engell, Assistant Professor of Psychology
Samuel Mather 115
740-427-5575
engella@kenyon.edu

John Hofferberth, Associate Professor of Chemistry
Tomsich 312
740-427-5360
hofferberthj@kenyon.edu

Kerry Rouhier, Assistant Professor of Chemistry
Tomsich Hall 212
740-427-5359
rouhierk@kenyon.edu

Sarah Petersen, Ashby Denoon Assistant Professor of Neuroscience
Samuel Mather 118
740-427-5259
petersens@kenyon.edu 

Wade Powell, Professor of Biology
Fischman Wing 202
740-427-5396
powellw@kenyon.edu

The Preprofessional Advisor

Maureen Tobin, Senior Associate Director, Career Development Office
Career Development Office
740-427-5766
tobinm@kenyon.edu

Health-Related Student Groups and Alumni Resources

Knox County Medical Experiences Designed by Students (KC-Meds)

Meet fellow students contemplating medical, dental, or veterinary careers. KC-Meds enables premed students to interact with a network of local physicians, including job shadowing opportunities. KC-Meds also sponsors field trips, networking sessions with recent alums who are currently in med school, visiting speakers and social events.

Kenyon Career Network (KCN) 

The Kenyon Career Network is designed to assist students and graduates in making connections with Kenyon alumni provided information about their careers, for instance in the health care field.